about IPL 2022 captains

List Of All The IPL Franchise Captain For 2022

The fans of cricket from all over the world eagerly await every year for the spring as it is when they can see their favorite team competing in one of the toughest leagues called IPL. As you know, IPL is one of the world’s most famous and most-watched cricket tournaments. It happens every year in India where teams buy foreign players and local players to build a balanced team to fight for the IPL trophy every year. This year two new cricket franchise teams are added following the IPL 2022.

Thus earlier, there used to be eight teams competing in IPL, but now there are ten teams. The teams for IPL 2022 are Lucknow Super Giants, Delhi Capitals, Rajasthan Royals, Royals Challenger Bangalore, Chennai Super Kings, Punjab Kings, Mumbai Indians, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Kolkata Knight Riders, Gujarat Titans. If you are an avid fan of the IPL and looking for information about IPL 2022 captains , then below is the list of all cricket team’s captains.

Mumbai Indians

Rohit Sharma has been the captain of Mumbai Indians

The team has decided to let Rohit Sharma continue his duty of leading the team once again for this season. Rohit Sharma has been the captain of Mumbai Indians since he was bought by the team and will captain Mumbai Indians for the 10th consecutive season. He is the most successful captain of IPL history as he has led his team to clinch five IPL trophies. Moreover, he has not disappointed the fans of Mumbai Indians in terms of performance, as Mumbai Indians have played extremely well under the captaincy of Rohit Sharma.

Chennai Super Kings

team of Chennai Super Kings

After India’s legendary captain MS Dhoni stepped down from captaincy, the team decided to give this responsibility to Ravindra Jadeja. Hence, he will lead the team of Chennai Super Kings for the IPL 2022. However, the young bowler does not have experience in leading the team; thus, it would be interesting to see how Chennai Super Kings will prevent their title.

Gujarat Titans

team of Gujarat Titans

Gujarat Titans are going to debut in the IPL 2022. Thus as the newly formed team, they would be looking to leave a good first impression in the tournament. To do that, they have given the role of captaincy to the talented young all-rounder Hardik Pandya. It will be his first time captaining the team as well. Hardik Pandya has been out of cricket for several months now, and this will be his chance to prove his ability both as captain and player.

Royals Challenger Bangalore

team of Royals Challenger Bangalore

Royals Challenger Bangalore also had the responsibility of switching the captain role to the right hand after the stepping down of their captain Virat Kohli who has captained the team for a very long time. But now, RCB has assigned the role of captain to the Faf Du Plessis. He is an experienced player and has captained the South African team on multiple teams, so he was the perfect choice for the responsibility.

Rajasthan Royals

team of Rajasthan Royals

Rajasthan Royals are going with their regular captain Sanju Samson. Rajasthan even retained him before the auction. But despite the same captain, Rajasthan Royals have not performed well in their previous seasons as they were in the bottom two of the table for most of the years. So this year, Sanju Samson would be hoping to change this stat and will try his best to at least end in the top four this season.

Kolkata Knight Riders

team of Kolkata Knight Riders

After losing their player and former captain, Eoin Morgan, the staff of Kolkata Knight Riders had the responsibility of buying some good players that could lead the team as well. So this time, they decided to go for the young and aggressive Indian batsman Shreyas Iyer. He has the experience of captaining in the IPL and has been performing well with the bat over the past years. Thus he would be looking to do the same with Kolkata Knight Riders.

Sunrisers Hyderabad

team of Sunrisers Hyderabad

Kane Williamson will be the captain of Sunsrisers Hyderabad for the following IPL 2022. Williamson is also one of the retained players by the team and has ample amount of experience of captaining the national team for several years.

Punjab Kings

team of Punjab Kings

The Punjab Kings decided to make Mayank Agarwal captain of the newly formed team ahead of the start of IPL 2022. Mayank Agarwal will be one of the players who will make their captaincy debut in the IPL this year. Thus he will have a lot of pressure to continuously perform and lead well in all of the matches of the IPL.

Lucknow Super Giants

team of Lucknow Super Giants

Lucknow Super Giants will also be debuting as the new cricket franchise in the IPL, and they have made KL Rahul their captain. So KL Rahul has joined this new team and has the experience of leading the team and will seek to start the IPL somehow.

Delhi Capitals

team of Delhi Capitals

The previous season of IPL went well for Delhi Capitals. Thus they would be hoping to keep their good form right from the start of the IPL this year. Rishab Pant, an Indian wicketkeeper-batsman, will be leading the team and has shown his potential in the previous season.